RSS

Hmmm Bakery

26 Jan

The other day a friend brought me the most delicious treats from Hmmm Bakery and I had to go check it out!

Hmmm Bakery is found in a small side street between car repair workshop in Gardens. If you blink you will miss it!

Hmmm Bakery makes all their cakes and sweet treats in the premises. The cater for restaurants as well as you and me. The bakery is very open planned so that you can watch the baking process while sipping on your cup of coffee in the coffee shop area. They have a small menu which is written daily on a blackboard as you walk in. But this is a working bakery so don’t expect friendly staff waiting at your beck and call for you order – they are bakers and will quite happily carry on with their task without even saying hello.

I was there on a Friday lunch time and they were busy with lots of orders for the weekend so boxes were piled high and they were not that interested in a walk-in like me. When I inquired as to what was on offer for take-away I was shown freshly baked muffins, cup cakes and gluten free chocolate almond cupcakes (my fav!). They also offer wedding cakes and birthday cakes – A 4-tired wedding cake for R1,400 is very reasonable. (You can have a look at some of their beautiful creations on their website.)

This is not really a place I would meet friends for lunch this is a working bakery and I would definitively consider them the next time I want a specialty cake made or some treats for my book club. I think if you walk in looking for a treat your options are very much luck of the draw – try and phone a head and order a cake or a tray of muffins for a party.

Give them a try and let me know what you think.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hmmm  Bakery

6 Clare Street, Gardens, Cape Town 8001

Tel:  021-462 1950

Opening Hours: Monday-Friday 08.30 – 16.30

Saturday – collections only

Hmmmbakery

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 26, 2012 in Coffee Shops

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

